Digital Detox – We Could all Use it

Big SurI am returning from a bit of a “blogging hiatus.”  It is good to be back!  During my absence I have enjoyed graduation, a much needed getaway, and some good old quality time with family and friends.  I am feeling refreshed and ready to tackle new projects!  Why am I telling you this?  Well, because I learned something extremely important during my getaway that will help my well-being, and I want to share!

While visiting an awesome camping resort (called Treebones Resort.  Check it out here http://www.treebonesresort.com/), I learned the term “Digital Detox.”  Now, I am sure we have heard about something like this over one million times, but I like their term.  While visiting the resort there is not even cell phone service available.  Therefore, visitors do not have a choice.  They will tell you this ahead of time, and I think they keep it that way for a reason. My point is: Everyone can benefit from a digital detox every once in while.

We are all so connected to our digital devices, and I almost had a mini-panic attack when I heard that we would not have any cell phone service whatsoever during our stay (toddler back at home, so it was tough to have no phone).  Needless to say, It was the best thing I have done for my brain in a long time.  Three things you can expect from a legitimate digital detox:

  1. Feeling truly refreshed- The brain simply needs a break sometimes.  when we are connected 100% of the time, it never gets one.
  2. Noticing and appreciating things you would normally miss- We often take the simple things in life for granted, and do not pay attention to our current surroundings.  It is hard to accomplish when the mind is always somewhere else.
  3. Engaging with people like we all should anyway- Enjoy your company!  The emails and texts can wait.  We have all seen that awkward dinner date where two people are enjoying a lovely meal with their cell phones.  Do not be those people!

My challenge to you is to take a digital detox day in the next 30 days, and notice how refreshed you feel!  You may even be extra productive that day.  Try it, even if you need to go camp on the coast to do so!  Please share!

Leave a comment